Posted in Education, music, piano

F. Chopin, Nocturne cis moll

As I was practicing I realised that the KEY is to play the piece the way that I want and NOT as I think it should be played.

I have now the knowledge and the experience (BUT the music as well guides me..) to understand the style and the character of a piece.

However, I don’t think it is a problem to explore your musicality and expand your own creativity while playing something, even if it leads you to a very different path from what was originally intended or what is widely known and accepted about this piece. (Through recordings and such).

If nothing else, you will feel free, you will relax as there will be no expectation and you might actually discover something new about yourself as a musician, pianist, even as a human being. 🙂

– So, that’s what I did and will continue doing today.

Later, I will take small phrases or bars or segments of the piece to improve it technically, BUT not the whole piece, as I don’t want to spoil it by over thinking or over trying.

Author:

BELUGA & THE SNAIL It all started one Saturday when I met my Russian friend Anastasia at the Grande Bretagne Hotel for a cup of tea! YEzzz...once I was told that drinking a cup of tea or coffee in a Versace tea cup is way better than doing it at any other place...and it costs the same... Well, I don't necessarily agree with all of that but I do enjoy the atmosphere, the Victorian inspired looking cup and the pianist in the background.. ;) I thought that would be another great experience to share with my dear friend. Well, after reading the menu and seeing how much a beluga caviar dish costs..my dear Anastasia became Beluga..we laughed so much...and how appropriate..beluga caviar = Russian friend.. or maybe very inappropriate but we both screamed out that name for her at the same time and we've been doing it ever since... Next weekend..during a shopping spree we ended up in Sephora where I vigorously looked for this Tonymoly sheet mask with snail slime that I LOVE so that Anastasia can try it too... No Snail sheet mask anywhere to be found.. and I was so disappointed..Anastasia outed the words..: "Snail not fail"... and that's when my so appropriate name came to life... So there you go.. I became the Snail!! So this is how this blog name was created... I enjoy new experiences, being part of other cultures and travelling around the world!

Leave a Reply

